Special Events

The IMA hosts ongoing and one-time special events throughout the museum. Check back often for a listing of upcoming special events. For more information on having your own special event at the IMA, please visit Facility Rentals.

Upcoming Special Events

Upcoming Special Events

Project IMA: Call for Entries
Special Event
Submissions due August 7, 2015
IMA Book Drive for Richard Wentworth: False Ceiling – Indianapolis
Special Event
Book drive dates: July 17 - September 8, 2015

Exhibition opens September 25
Dream Cars Member Early Access
Special Event
Sundays 11 am - 12 pm (May 3 - August 23, 2015)
Allen Whitehill Clowes Gallery in Wood Pavilion
Thursday Night Book Club / Ingenious: A True Story of Invention, Automotive Daring, and the Race to Revive America by Jason Fagone
Special Event
Thursday, July 30 / 6:30-8:30 pm
Meet on 2nd Floor at top of escalator.
Included with admission
Opening Reception for Tradition Reborn: Contemporary Japanese Ceramics
Special Event
Thursday, July 30 / 7-8:30 pm
Asian Gallery
Family Day: Field Day
Family Activities
Saturday, August 1 / 10 am-3 pm
100 Acres: The Virginia B. Fairbanks Art & Nature Park
Talk & Walk: Gardening for Pollinators (Bees, Butterflies & Hummingbirds)
Special Event
Thursday, August 6 / 6-7:30 pm
DeBoest Lecture Hall
Jason Torchinsky: Driving Artificializer System
Special Event
Thursday, August 6 / 7 pm
IMA Amphitheater
Hummingbird Banding: Catch and Release
Special Event
Three sessions: 8:30, 9:30 & 10:30 am on Saturday, August 22, 2015
Garden for Everyone & IMA Grounds
Included with admission
Art and Nature Homeschool Day at the IMA
Special Event
Tuesday, August 25 / 11 am-2 pm
Check in at the Guest Services Desk
High Tea: The Evolution of a Fashionable Ritual
Special Event
Thursday, August 27 / 4 pm
Deer Zink Pavilion / The Toby
The Temporary Suburban Opening
Special Event
Friday, August 28 / 6-9 pm
The Virginia B. Fairbanks Art & Nature Park: 100 Acres
ARTx Grown-Up Summer Camp
Special Event
Saturday, August 29 / 8 am-11 pm
The Virginia B. Fairbanks Art & Nature Park: 100 Acres
Carolee Snyder: An Herbal Lifestyle
Special Event
Saturday, August 29 / 1-2:30 pm
Madeline F. Elder Greenhouse
Public Conversation with Michelle Grabner
Talk
Saturday, August 29 / 2-3 pm
The Virginia B. Fairbanks Art and Nature Park: 100 Acres
Family Day: DIY
Family Activities
Saturday, September 5 / 10 am-3 pm
Community Day: Autumn Equinox: SoundScape
Special Event
Saturday, September 19 / 2-5 pm
The Virginia B. Fairbanks Art & Nature Park: 100 Acres
MuseumNext: Building Inclusive Museums
Special Event
Saturday, September 26
The Toby
Family Day: Skate or Die
Family Activities
Saturday, October 3 / 10 am-3 pm
Community Day: National Garden Day
Special Event
Saturday, October 3 / 11 am-4 pm
Family Day: Secrets
Family Activities
Saturday, November 7 / 10 am-3 pm
Community Day: Silent Night
Special Event
Saturday, November 28 / 5-8 pm
Family Day: MadeIN
Family Activities
Saturday, December 5 / 10 am-3 pm
Community Day: Winter Solstice
Special Event
Thursday, December 17 / 5:30-9 pm