Design Arts Society

The members of the Design Arts Society (DAS) are dedicated to the understanding and appreciation of the aesthetic, historical and cultural significance of Western design. Their interests span the 16th century to the present and encompasses a broad range of media including furniture, glass, ceramics, metalwork, jewelry, and product design.

DAS members work to promote a greater awareness of the central role that design plays in our daily lives and to also help establish the IMA as an important center for the design arts in the United States. DAS offers an annual series of programs featuring lectures from international, national, and regional design experts, as well as private DAS members’ only special events. Past events hosted by DAS include: Shaping the New Century: A Two-Day International Design Symposium, A Night with George Nelson, Revisiting Cranbrook: Eliel Saarinen and the Survival of Tradition and many more..

Upcoming Events

Trip to Columbus, Indiana
Saturday, May 2, 2015
Tours begin at 3:00pm

$20 DAS members |$35 Public
Availability is limited

Join DAS for an afternoon in Columbus, IN. Our trip includes a tour of the Miller House and Gardens, which showcases the work of leading 20th-century architects and designers, Eero Saarinen, Alexander Girard, with landscape design by Dan Kiley. The next stop will be the Irwin Bank building at 301 Washington Street, Irwin Miller’s private office, featuring custom-produced furniture by Herman Miller and works by Alexander Girard. A reception with light hors d’oeuvres will follow. Download the registration form below.

Download PDF

Stay up to date on the latest by following the DAS Fan page on Facebook.

2014-2015 Board Officers

Marika Klemm, President
Drew White, Vice President
David Force, Secretary
Mark Demerly, Treasurer
Tom Vriesman, Immediate Past President

Lee Alig
Jeff Bond
Janet Brandt
Baz Crites
Joel Harrison
Mary Inchauste
Chip Kalleen
Craig McCormick
Shirley Mueller
Ana Pinto-Alexander
Marian Pettengill
Nancy Ramsey
Sherri Roizen-Watson
Eric Rowland
Joe Shoemaker
Jim Sholly
Natalie Wehr
Christopher West

Honorary Committee
Simon Abraham
Penny Fortune
Frank Grunwald
Pat LaCrosse
Catie Lichtenauer
Ann Stack

DAS Membership Dues

Become a member of DAS today! In order to be eligible for membership in the DAS, you must be an IMA member. If you are a student and/or under the age of 35, you are eligible for a special membership rate. For more information please contact the Development department at 317-923-1331 ext. 434

$40 individual
$60 couple
$140 patron
$160 patron couple
NEW! Students receive a free DAS membership (ID required)

DAS Acquisition Fund

During the last four years, under the direction of R. Craig Miller, senior curator of design arts and director of design initiatives, the IMA has acquired over 1,000 design objects emphasizing twentieth and twenty-first-century design. The new Design Arts Galleries on the Museum’s third floor will expand the collection’s exhibition space to nearly 10,000 square feet. This new installation, scheduled to open in 2013, will be one of the largest–and first–comprehensive surveys of the history of contemporary design in an American museum. With a special lead gift of $10,000 from the Design Arts Society (DAS), we have launched the 2012 Design Arts Society Purchase Fund initiative. Our goal is to help the Museum acquire twentieth-century masterpieces to fill major gaps in the collection, and to augment the numerous gifts that will be secured from national and international patrons, designers, and manufacturers over the next year.