Contemporary Art Society

Since 1962, The Contemporary Art Society (CAS) has promoted the understanding, appreciation, and collection of contemporary art. Through a dynamic series of social and educational events. CAS members enjoy privileged access to curators, artists, private collections, and travel. CAS members significantly impact the collection of contemporary art at the IMA by contributing to acquisitions and participating in voting to bring selected works into the collection.

CAS regularly hosts lectures featuring nationally and internationally renowned artists who have included: Vik Muniz, Layah Ali, Kiki Smith, Amy Cutler, Ghada Amer, James Casebere, Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons, Dawoud Bey, Alfredo Jaar, Orly Genger, Judy Levy, Josephine Meckseper, Tara Donovan and many more. Through their generous support, Contemporary Art Society (CAS) members help build the Museum’s contemporary art collection.

The Contemporary Art Society is led by a Board of Directors and is advised by Tricia Y. Paik, Curator of Contemporary Art, as well as a Museum Affiliate liaison.

Upcoming Events

Preview and reception celebrating Michelle Grabner: Weaving Life into Art exhibition opening

Image credit: Michelle Grabner, 2014, Installation view, James Cohan Gallery, New York

Thursday, May 21, 2015

6:30 to 8 pm / Reception
Sutphin Fountain Room

7 pm / Brief Tour with Michelle Grabner and curator Tricia Y. Paik
June M. McCormack Forefront Galleries

Join the Contemporary Art Society (CAS) in celebrating the opening of Michelle Grabner: Weaving Life Into Art, the artist’s first solo exhibition at an encyclopedic museum such as the IMA. The exhibition will feature paintings, works on paper, video, and sculpture, as well as a new photographic series inspired by the Indianapolis Colts.

Grabner is perhaps best known for her intricate, labor-intensive abstract paintings, made with silverpoint and black gesso and others inspired by fabrics found in the domestic sphere. Besides being a leading artist, she is a noted critic, professor, and curator. Last year Grabner co-curated the Whitney Biennial in New York.

Come out and have the opportunity to meet the artist over a drink and hear her talk about her exhibition!

Please refer to your invitation for RSVP information, and if you are not yet a member and want to attend the reception, please sign up now!

Exclusive tour of artist Michelle Grabner’s studio in Oak Park, Illinois

Image credit: Michelle Grabner

Saturday, May 30, 2015

CAS members are invited for a special insider’s look with Michelle Grabner at her studio!

Along with this private tour, CAS members will have the chance to visit The Suburban, the leading alternative art space that Grabner founded with her husband, artist Brad Killam, on the grounds of their home in Oak Park. The Suburban serves as the inspiration for a special IMA installation opening on August 28, 2015, at the Virginia B. Fairbanks Art & Nature Park: 100 Acres. Called The Temporary Suburban, it will feature through September 20th, four small solo exhibitions featuring local artists, one artist per weekend.

CAS members are responsible for arranging personal transportation for this exciting trip to Oak Park, Illinois. The drive from Indianapolis to Oak Park is about 3 hours and 15 minutes.

For more information on the artist:

Please refer to your invitation for RSVP information, and if you are not yet a member and want the opportunity to go on this private tour, please sign up now! For more information, please write:

Stay up to date on the latest by following the CAS fan page on Facebook.

2012-2013 Board Officers

Anne Surak, President
Travis DiNicola, Vice-President
Nela Swinehart, Treasurer
Dr. Beth Peyton, Secretary
Shauta Marsh, Education
Clayton Miller and Kathryn Armstrong, Membership
Anna White, Mindy Taylor Ross, Lauren Zoll, Dorothy Alig, Sherri Roizen, Jessica Lee, At-Large
Michael Kaufmann, Past President

CAS Membership Dues

Become a member of CAS today! In order to be eligible for membership in the CAS, you must be an IMA member. If you are a student and/or under the age of 35, you are eligible for a special membership rate. For more information please contact the Development department at 317-923-1331 ext. 434

Free for students (ID required)
$55 Art Professional/Young Member (under 40)
$150 Member

$250 Contributor
$500 Collector
$1,000 Patron
$2,000 Benefactor

All membership levels include one household or one individual plus a guest. CAS membership is completely tax-deductible CAS acquisition fund. Donor-level members enjoy additional access to CAS organized, curator-led trips in the US and abroad to visit the world‘s greatest public and private collections and art galleries with acquisition opportunities.